Palazzo Salis in Soglio
400 year of history
The current building of the Hotel Palazzo Salis was built in 1630 as a residence for Baptista von Salis. In 1701, the imposing building on the northern edge of Soglio received its present facade. Together with other neighbouring Palazzos, the hotel building is the architectural focus of the excellently preserved townscape of this high-altitude Bregell village. Various generations of the von Salis family have given the hotel its current character and have also contributed with furniture, paintings and murals to the rich interiors. The Palazzo Salis has been run as a hotel since 1876. A number of famous guests have stayed here, including Giovanni Segantini, Rainer Maria Rilke, Hermann Burger and Alberto Giacometti. Historic furniture, and panelling, elegant parquet floors, and the stairs and floors of local stone along with the numerous murals, stucco work and ancestral portraits create a unique and welcoming atmosphere.
The picturesque garden behind the hotel deserves a special mention. In its oldest known 18th century form, it was laid out in geometric shapes. A century later, domestic and exotic groups of trees, including a sequoia, give it an artistic touch. This garden which has been professionally cared for in line with its historical significance and unique charm perfectly complements the Baroque palazzo.
The garden can be visited during the summer season from 11:00 to 17:00.
It is also possible to visit the hotel from July to September, on Thursdays at 4 p.m. - "Visits to the Palazzo Salis di Soglio ".