Praetorio and chamber of torture
On the witches' trail
Near the main square with its typical stone fountain, is the "Pretorio," the old town hall and main courthouse, which was built in 1583.
By the front gate, under the allegories of justice and temperance is a pillory. From the old town hall rises the round, medieval "Senvelen" Tower. The sight of the torture chamber and torture devices send chills down one's spine. During the 17th century, many alleged witches were caught and held here and more than a few ended up on the gallows. Their stakes still stand at the edge of the village today. Walking through this area, one comes to an arched bridge from which there is a magnificent view of the stunning mountains on both sides of the valley.
From April to October, the Praetorium and the round tower are open daily. Guided tours are also available. Please call to make an appointment. On the guided tour, you will learn about the culture and local traditions of the Bregaglia Valley.
Opening hours end April- October, from 9am - 7pm.